

We are a network of classroom teachers, veteran educators, industry professionals and friends of scholastic journalism dedicated to providing resources, advocacy and mentorship. Serving Texas journalism teachers, TAJE's goal is to provide resources, advocacy and mentorship for our members.

- Provides access to classroom resources and mentors. Visit taje.org and reach out to mentorship chair Bobby Hawthorne, mentors@taje.org.
- Supports New Voices of Texas, a youth-led advocacy movement consisting of student leaders organized to enact legislation to challenge the consequences of the 1988 Hazelwood v. Kuhlmeier Supreme Court decision.
- Provides members with experiences and info for developing successful teaching of journalism and directing of publications by hosting its annual Fall Fiesta convention.
- Provides information at taje.org, on social media and in state and regional workshops on new developments, trends, practices and standards to raise the quality of school publications.
- Works with the Texas Education Agency and the State Board of Education to establish professional criteria for journalism education.
- Supports and works closely with other scholastic journalism organizations by sharing information and collecting membership dues for:
 - Journalism Education Association
 - Interscholastic League Press Conference
 - Association of Texas Photography Instructors
 - National Scholastic Press Association
 - Columbia Scholastic Press Association
 - Southern interscholastic Press Association

HOW YOU CAN HELP:

Pathfinder Award

WHO TAJE HONORS:

- honors journalism educators with seven years (or fewer) experience.
- Trailblazer Award honors educators who set trends and shape Texas journalism.
- Friend of Journalism Award honors efforts to expand the scope and capability of Texas scholastic journalism.
- Administrator of the Year Award honors campus/district leadership who supports the journalism education experience.
- Texas Treasure honors persons who spent their careers in Texas journalism and helped, advised, guided and directed other journalism teachers in the state.
- Texas Journalist of the Year honors a graduating senior for their work on publications throughout their academic career. The winner and runners-up are recognized at the ILPC Spring Awards Ceremony.

- \$1,500 Bill Taylor Memorial Scholarship for the Texas Journalist of the Year. The Texas JOY is entered in the Journalism Education Association's national competition.
 - \$1,000 scholarships awarded to four graduating seniors
- Six \$150 summer workshop scholarships for students
- Three \$250 summer workshop scholarships for teachers
- Scholarships for students to attend Fall Fiesta

- Teach sessions at Fall Fiesta.
- Judge Fall Fiesta contests.
- Critique publications for Fall Fiesta.
- Judge Best in Texas contests.
- Mentor other advisers.
- Run for regional representative or executive board.
- Join special committees on an as-needed basis.
- Share experiences and lesson ideas on the TAJE website.

CALENDAR	Oct. 8-10, 2022 Oct. 28, 2022 Dec. 3, 2022 Jan. 29, 2023 Feb. 15, 2023	Fall Fiesta Best in Texas Yearbook due CenTex Virtual Invitational UIL Meet Best in Texas Online News, Print News and Broadcast due Deadlines for Journalist of the Year and
	Feb. 15, 2023	Deadlines for Journalist of the Year and TAJE Scholarships

HOW WE PAY IT FORWARD:

WHAT TAJE DOES:

- Fall Fiesta Best of Show contest for publications
- Fall Fiesta photo, video, design, writing and broadcast contests
- Fall Fiesta on-site critique feedback and student-led sessions in The Bureau
- Best in Texas competition for student work in yearbook, print news, online news and broadcast with category winners named Best of the Best
- Central Texas Invitational Virtual Meet co-sponsored with UIL
- Provide leadership opportunities for journalism students as New Voices officers and Student Advisory Panel members

Save the Date:



Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk October 8-10, 2022

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES Region 1: Jasinia Frausto, Canyon High School - region1@taje.org Region 2: Emily Pyeatt Arnold, Aledo High School - region2@taje.org Region 3: Lisa Roskens, Prosper HS - region3@taje.org Region 4: Skye Duncan, Sabine HS - region4@taje.org Region 5: Vanessa Martinez, El Dorado HS - region5@taje.org Region 6: Carey McCarthy, Communications Arts HS - region6@taje.org Region 7: David Doerr, Akins Early College HS - region7@taje.org Region 8: Jennifer Walton, The Woodlands College Park HS - region8@taje.org Region 9: Amber Parrish, Cy-Falls HS - region9@taje.org



Region 10: Sandra Casperson, Robert Vela HS - region10@taje.org

EXECUTIVE BOARD & COMMITTEE CHAIRS

President: Kari Riemer, Hendrickson HS - president@taje.org President-Elect: Michael Reeves, James Bowie HS - presidentelect@taje.org Past President: Alyssa Boehringer, Austin - pastpresident@taje.org Secretary: Stephen Green, Caney Creek HS - secretary@taje.org Treasurer: Margaret Edmonson, Smithson Valley HS - treasurer@taje.org State Director: Emily Pyeatt Arnold, Aledo HS - statedirector@taje.org

Convention Director: PJ Cabrera, Judson ISD - convention@taje.org Contest Director: Andrea Negri, Bellaire HS - contests@taje.org Webmaster: Mauri Sparks, Stephen F. Austin HS - webmaster@taje.org Executive Director: Cindy Todd, Buda - director@taje.org

ILPC Liaison: Alyssa Boehringer, Austin - aboehringer@uiltexas.org ATPI Liaison: Mark Murray, Santa Fe, New Mexico – mmurray@atpi.org Private Schools Liaison: Alicia Merrifield, The Village School - privateschools@taje.org

Mentorship: Bobby Hawthorne, Austin - utbobby@gmail.com Education: Laura Negri, Alief Kerr HS - lauranegri@aliefisd.net Legislative and Policy: David Doerr, Akins Early College HS - doerr.david@gmail.com

Contact any of these people to get more involved!