TAJE Announces 2023-2025 Regional Rep Election Results

TAJE Announces 2023-2025 Regional Rep Election Results

The Texas Association of Journalism Educators closed voting for the 2023-2025 Regional Representatives election on Monday evening and today announced the selection of six new Regional Reps and the return of four members to the 10-person team.

Returning for another cycle are: Jasinia Frausto, Canyon High School (Region 1); Vanessa Martinez, El Dorado High School (Region 5); Carey McCarthy, Communication Arts High School (Region 6); and Sandra Casperson, Robert Vela High School (Region 10).

New members moving into Representative roles on June 1 are: Daniel Carr, Ray Braswell High School (Region 2); Taylor Mersmann, Rock Hill High School (Region 3);  Tabitha Houchens, Redwater High School (Region 4); Haley Gluch, McNeil High School (Region 7); Michael Tobias, Port Neches-Groves High School (Region 8); and Megan Ortiz, Kingwood Park High School (Region 9).

“We are very excited to have a great set of journalism teachers join TAJE in the Regional Representative role,” TAJE President-Elect Michael Reeves said. “I have made it my goal to spend more time with our Regional Reps to facilitate their efforts to support members in their region.”

Regional Reps were specifically created to represent TAJE across the state because of its vast size. Reps act as mentors, bring information about the needs of teachers in their areas and serve as liaisons to the TAJE board, make contact with new teachers to recruit for the organization and offer some sort of workshop for teachers and/or students in their region during their two-year tenure.

“I look forward to working with the great group of journalism educators,” TAJE President Kari Riemer said. “They are pivotal in helping us provide support for journalism teachers and students in Texas.”