The official site of Texas Association of Journalism Educators


The official site of Texas Association of Journalism Educators


The official site of Texas Association of Journalism Educators


TAJE Announces Board Election Results for 2024-2026 Term


TAJE is pleased to announce the results of the February board election. We are grateful to everyone who ran for a position on the board as well as to all of our members who voted in last week’s election. You can read more about these new board members below. They will serve on the board in their new roles from 2024-2026.


President-Elect – Stephen Green

Stephen Green, CJE, is the adviser to the Student Media program at Caney Creek High School in Conroe and is currently the secretary for TAJE. He advises the Creek Compass news website and The Creek yearbook — both of which have received awards on the state and national level.

He is a recipient of TAJE’s Pathfinder Award and JEA’s Rising Star Award, a former reporter for daily newspapers, and coaches debate. He has a bachelor’s degree in multiplatform journalism from Sam Houston State, and a master’s degree in journalism and mass communication (concentrating on journalism education) from Kent State.


Secretary – Alexis Berkey

My name is Alexis Berkey, and I serve as the faculty adviser for three dynamic journalism programs at Klein Cain High School in Klein, Texas. In my role, I support student editors in managing the broadcast, newspaper, and yearbook programs, all of which we have revitalized since August. We’ve relaunched the broadcast and newspaper initiatives entirely and have innovated the yearbook production process and design.

Throughout my career, I’ve had the privilege of guiding numerous students to win awards from the Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE). Many of my students have been inspired by their experiences that they’ve chosen to pursue journalism beyond high school.

One of my most rewarding coaching experiences involved assisting a student with an investigative piece on locker room culture. Her dedication and talent led to recognition by TAJE and the prestigious title of Journalist of the Year. I’m proud of her achievements and the small role I played in her journey.

My life’s mission is to educate and ignite a passion for journalism in my students. I believe that my enthusiasm for the craft and dedication to student success shine through in all of our collaborative endeavors.


Treasurer – Margaret Edmonson

My 22-year career as a journalism teacher follows the same trajectory as most other Texas advisers – advising multiple publications while also teaching four to six preps. Despite our small staff, our publications have won ILPC Star awards, the yearbook has been included in the Jostens LookBook for the past 15 years and our newspaper has achieved SNO Distinguished Sites recognition. I was honored to receive the Edith Fox King Award in 2023, and I currently serve as a teaching ambassador for the Emerging Journalists Program sponsored by the University of North Texas Mayborn School of Journalism and Scripps Howard Fund. I am also a member of the Association of Texas Photography Instructors, ILPC and the National Scholastic Press Conference.


State Director – Lisa Roskens

Lisa Musser Roskens has taught for 23-plus years, including time at one of the smallest – and one of the largest – schools in Texas. Before teaching in six-man-football-size Groom and her current gig as the multimedia news adviser in Prosper, she worked as a journalist, stay-at-home mom, and freelance writer. Her publishing credits span multiple genres, including National Geographic for Kids, Fort Worth Magazine and other newspapers and publications. She has a degree in Journalism/English from Angelo State University and received one-on-one instruction from award-winning journalism educators.